Representing WIU Students & Local Area Residents for Over 15 Years!
Please be advised that in the case of a state charge and/or city ordinance violation for Unlawful Possession/Consumption of Alcohol by a Minor (Underage Drinking) - a conviction or even a sentence of supervision will result in a suspension of your driver's license by the Illinois Secretary of State (minimum of 3 months for supervision and minimum of 6 months for a convictions.)
The following Information is provided by the Illinois Secretary of State cyberdriveillinois.com website. Please refer directly to that website for up to date laws and information.www.cyberdriveillinois.com - underage drinking/DUI information
Under Illinois' Zero Tolerance Law, a driver under age 21 caught with any trace of alcohol in his/her system will lose his/her driving privileges.
A law enforcement officer may request a chemical test after a traffic stop and issuance of a citation for any offense, when the officer has probable cause to believe an underage driver has any trace of alcohol in his/her system. After administering such tests, the law enforcement officer submits a sworn statement to the Secretary of State's office and the offender's driver's license is suspended.
Note: Full driving privileges may not be restored until all applicable reinstatement fees are paid to the Secretary of State's office.
Any person under age 21 also may be charged with a DUI: if he/she has a BAC of .08 or more; more than .05 with additional evidence proving impairment; any illegal drugs in his/her system; or other indications of impaired driving.
To relieve undue hardship for drivers over age 16, a Restricted Driving Permit (RDP) may be issued after a portion of the suspension period has passed to allow driving for employment, educational or medical purposes.
It is illegal to transport alcoholic beverages in the passenger area of a vehicle. Regardless of whom the alcohol belongs to, everyone in the vehicle may be charged with illegal transportation. The driver will receive the following penalties and the violation on their record, passengers will receive a monetary fine.
Parents/guardians may face a Class 4 Felony, with possible imprisonment of 1-3 years and a fine of up to $25,000, if great bodily harm or death results from knowingly allowing individuals under 21 to drink in their home. Parents will also be held responsible for any damages that accrued as a result of intoxicated underage persons leaving the premises.
A nighttime driving restriction is in place Sunday-Thursday, 10 p.m-6 a.m., and Friday-Saturday, 11 p.m.-6 a.m. (local curfews may differ from the nighttime driving restriction).
For more information on the Secretary of State's alcohol education programs, contact:
Traffic Safety Division
2701 S. Dirksen Pkwy.
Springfield, IL 62723
This website is for informational purposes only. Using this site or communicating with Susan L. Stambaugh, Attorney at Law through this site does not form an attorney/client relationship. This site is legal advertising.
Copyright © 2018 LawLawyerTemplate - All Rights Reserved.
Powered by GoDaddy Website Builder